The Cure for Knitting ADD….I hope…

I think/hope I found the secret to help abate my rampant knitting ADD; YOU are that secret, blogosphere.  Yup, it’s that simple.  If I tell you what I’m knitting and putting on the needles etc then I feel like if I tear it out because I’m bored, or something else catches my eye (which happens an awful lot), I’m obligated to explain to you, the reader, why. And bored, something new, “wrong yarn” are not viable excuses.

This is the year of the sock for me.  I’m bound and determined to finish 12 pairs of socks this year. By the end of 2016 I want to have enough socks knit to get rid of commercial socks altogether.

So in the spirit of both of these things…I cast on a pair of Jaywalkers by Grumperina. I’m knitting in Claudia Handpainted Fingering (which is apparently called Addiction now) in the Circus Dancer colorway.  And yes, it’s the “clown barf” that it sounds like. I cast on last night without gauge swatch; I’m going to start the cuff in pattern and measure the gauge based on that. If I’m off it’s not too much to rip out and if I’m right, I’m already into the project.  Oh, and I’m working on a “new skill” – double pointed needles.  I’ve always knit socks M.L. or 2 Circs. This is a challenge, but one I’m ready to meet.

I’m off to work on the first sock of the project. I think I’m spending most of the day in bed, anyway. This horrible respiratory thing that’s going around seems to have found a way past my defenses. I think I’m getting the flu….argh.

Leave a Reply

