Diamond Gansey begins….

image

Swatched the Shibui Sock yarn for the Diamond Gansey Socks and (wonders never cease) got guage with the suggested needle size. I really like this yarn. I love the very soft tone on tone variegation and I love how, tightly twisted it seems but with so much bounce and squishyness.
To be honest, when I bought the yarn I didn’t care for it too very much.  I was very into variegated yarns and bright colors at the time, so this seemed tame and boring in comparison. I boug by it to make a pair of socks for my mother and I just never found the right pattern for them. I decided to make Mom something a little more luxurious,  a blend with some cashmere or alpaca…something fuzzy and oh so soft. Here I am, though, a few years later and I’ve fallen for the yarn completely.  I’m so ready to cast on but I committed myself to at least one repeat of the Bubble Haze Shawl (formerly WendyKnits MKAL) before anything else. I have 8 repeats to go and then I’m done with it. Time to crank out a little shawl knitting so that I can get the Gansey ‘ s cast-on.

Leave a Reply

