Getting a very late start to NaBloPoMo (I just love that name…)

I firmly planned to post every day of the Month of November – to answer the topic questions and get into all sorts of discourse with all kinds of people.  As is the way with my always topsy-turvy life, though, it didn’t go down like that at all.  I’ve spent the last part of October and the first part of November working on a personal project that I’m hoping will change the lives of everyone in my household dramatically when it is finally done.  More on that as we get closer to the end and I have positive things to report.  No, we’re not trying to have another baby (yet).  It’s actually something that I’m finally doing for me;  something I really should have done a long time ago.  Better  late than never, I always say.

Being back from our summer California trip was crazy.  So much to do to get Jake ready for school and then we get into that routine and TJ gets a promotion and complete change in his work schedule.  It will give him weekends free for me and the kids again, how great is that?!?!  Now I’m caught up in “my thing” and even though it may seem like I’m being lazy, it’s a lot more work than anyone that hasn’t been there can possibly know.  I don’t feel like I have to defend it because it’s going to do wonderful things for myself, my husband and especially my kids.

The last few weeks, however have been mired in medical bullshit!  I’ve had gall bladder issues for at least 5 years or so; the worst of it being when I was pregnant with Connor (the pregnancy was too high risk at the time for them to do much about it, but it would have been nice to have two cuts, one healing time dontcha  think?  So anyway I go to the doctor about two weeks ago bc this pain in my URQ as they so quaintly put it (read:gall bladder attack) has me doubled over in pain with every breath.  I won’t even talk about the level of discomfort a simple sneeze caused.  It caused people to come and check on me.  Dr. P-S (not to be confused with my normal doctor, Dr. McK) did the physical exam, and yes she was gentle pushing on my belly,thank you Dr. P-S.  Confirming that it may, indeed, be related to the gall bladder attacks I’ve had on and off forever, she made an appointment for an ultra-sound for me.  Did that two weeks ago, results came in last week as all looking normal (read: no gall stones made an appearance in my gallbladder.) which is supposed to be a good sign, but still leaves me in pain and with nowhere to go.  Then Dr.’s office calls and says they are scheduling another test for me to take that involves an IV of radioactive something or another and seeing if my gb (as I’m starting to call it) is emptying effectively.  This test is on Tuesday and I have no idea when those results will come back or what we will do from there.  So I get to lay in bed in pain much of the time, worry about everything I put in my mouth and know that no relief is coming?  The silver lining here is I get to lose a little weight (God knows I need to) and that I’ve been told that usually even if they can’t find anything specifically wrong with the gb,  the doctor will still refer me to a surgeon so we can take the offending organ out.  My uncle had that surgery done recently, but it was a bit more complicated for him.  All I’ll say on that subject is Thank God Uncle Harold is better and well on the road to recovery.  There are some scary things that can happen with that (or any) surgery I think.  Surgery is NEVER my first choice (except in child-birth where it is not only the first choice  but the only choice in delivery options for this woman) but if a couple of incisions and removing an organ whose necessity is questionable at best is going to make me stop doubling over in pain for hours after almost any meal, I say cut away!!

So while I’ve been dealing with this.  The nights/days sometimes that I’m in bed in one of the few comfortable positions I can find at any given moment, I’ve been getting my Netflix on.  This thing is addictive.  Take Ghost Whisperer for example:  Here’s a show that, while on, I actively made fun of and refused to watch bc of some preconceived notion that Jennifer Love Hewitt was the devil or something equally stupid.  Now with all this time on my hands, I’ve started watching and am all the way through mid-season 5 with season one still to watch.  I jumped in with the season Jay Mohr joined the cast and go swept away.  Sometimes, though you need a break from that so I turn to my season 2 NCISLA fetish.  I’ve watched the first 15 or so episodes of the season in two days.  Does it mean you’re watching too much of one thing when you start seeing bits of it in your dream.  This morning I dreamed Hetty from NCISLA was my boss and I was telling people what a great boss she was.  Sure there’s that, but where I ask you is the dream with Chris O’Donnell in my bed waiting for me?  Maybe tonight?

Leave a Reply

