33 Weeks and Great O.B. Appointment

I actually had a good O.B. appointment!!  You could knock me over with a feather.  I’d come to expect the worst from every appointment that having things go well never even crossed my mind after the last few weeks.  First was the NST and he passed it with flying colors.  Okay, maybe it wasn’t with flying colors, but he passed and that’s the thing that really matters here.  Next was the actual appointment where my blood pressure was the lowest it’s ever been (110/62), there was only trace amounts of protein in my urine and everything looks really good.  Even my blood sugar seems to be evening out.  Just an all around good day.  Of course I’m taking nothing at all for granted and I realize that at tomorrow’s appointment  it could all go to hell in a hand basket.  But for today I’m going to be confident that this pregnancy could actually go all the way to 39 weeks.  I’m really not sure, though, that my belly can take it.

After such a good report yesterday, we went out to celebrate.  Nothing too big, I am still on modified bed rest afterall.  We took Jacob to the mall for pretzel dogs from Auntie Anne’s.  They are one of his favorite “junk foods” and frankly the air conditioning felt good and nobody felt like cooking in the heat last night.  Walking around felt pretty good once we found a nice slow pace that worked for me.  I broke the G.D. rules and had a pretzel and a Coke for dinner (it was delicious and worth every extra carb.)  The exercise seemed to help, though, b/c my blood sugar was still really good when I checked it.  It was like a charmed day yesterday…LOL  We also went to Target to look for some nightgowns that I could wear in the hospital as I don’t think my c-section scar is going to go well with pajama elastic.  Maternity and/or nursing gowns are so expensive for something that you only wear for a short time relatively speaking.  I found a couple of cute gowns that could easily be pulled down for nursing and they weren’t expensive at all.  I also found a really adorable maternity dress that was more expensive and we’re going to get next week.  YAY!!  I’ve come to love the concept of the “maxi dress”.  They are very comfortable and they are very cute; if you like the whole someone put a beach ball under my dress look, which I happen to adore…LOL  We also bought a starter package of baby bottles yesterday.  New bottles for us.  They are called Breastflow and they are very different from regular bottles, or so they say.  They are supposed to be very much like breast-feeding so that they won’t cause nipple confusion.  The baby has to not only suck on the bottle, but compress it as well in order to get any milk.  I know that my mother is going to want to be able to feed the baby and Jacob  has been talking about feeding him from the beginning so I thought that once we’ve got nursing well established (after the first three or four weeks) I can put pumped milk in bottles for them to feed Connor.

On a more fibery note:  I am almost done with the second of the diagonal lace socks.  Two pair down, two to go.  I don’t think that I’ll get four pair done before the big day, but three is a possibility.  I also got the spinning wheel out for the first time since we got back from Arizona.  I’ve been using the spindles to spin a bit, but my arms tire so easily these days.  I’m spinning the pound of karaoke fiber that I have in the playful colorway.  I’m spinning it as thin as I can, which turns out to be pretty thin.  For the first time I’m using the smallest whorl on the wheel and I’m not having the trouble with it that I was when I first tried it.  I really haven’t spent the time playing with/learning how to use the wheel that I should have.  I’ve read the books, I know the different drafting techniques but I’ve never really tried mastering them.  I have more fiber than I know what to do with and I tend to hoard it.  OMG, I’m a hoarder…LOL!!  I’m going to keep working on improving my spinning technique; oddly, while I do well with the finer yarns, I have trouble with maintaining consistency when I try to do anything thicker.  I’m hoping to buy and dye the fiber to spin for a Lady Eleanor Stole eventually.  I’ve wanted to make it for a while but haven’t found yarn in my price range that I love enough to make the effort.  We shall see.  Let’s get some smaller projects done first…:)

Leave a Reply

