Can’t sleep…

It’s 3:30 in the morning and I can’t sleep. Sometimes pregnancy is just no fun. So I’m watching TV which I don’t do as often as I’d like to anymore and I can’t stop thinking about the socks I’m knitting right now. I’m working on the Tresse pattern and while I like the cable and I love the color (Hot Flash, which is a combination of shades of pink ranging from the lightest pastel to the brightest fuchsia), I’m not really too sure about the yarn. I’ve heard nothing but great things about Socks that Rock and I have this skein of it, which is the medium weight, and another in the lightweight. It’s very easy to work with and very smooth, but I don’t think I’m loving it as much as I thought I would. The Monkeys that I made were made with Monkey Toes by Crazy Monkey Creations and it was a 100% merino yarn and therefore fuzzy; the other socks I have on the needles right now are BFL Sock by Fleece Artist and they are also fuzzy and super soft. I think that I prefer working with the fuzzier yarns. Interesting to me to realize this b/c I really thought I would prefer the tightly wound, smooth yarn. I guess I’ll have to see how I feel about the other skein of STR; maybe it’s the pattern in the end. It’s a lot of stockinette with a 14 st. cable chart thrown in. It’s simple but very pretty. I like the cable a lot and I don’t even mind the tedium of knitting round after round of mostly knit stitches – great TV socks. I don’t know why this is plaguing my mind so badly.
Tomorrow is my first appointment with the perinatologist and while I’m anxious to hear what he has to say and to find out more about the gestational diabetes and how we’re going to deal with it, I’m also really nervous about the appointment for some reason. I feel like I’ve done something wrong by having this condition and that it’s somehow my fault. I’ve been trying really hard to cut sugar out over the past week or so but I’m afraid I’m not doing as well as I’d like in the soda department. The diet soda just isn’t cutting it for me and I was weak today and had two bottle (12 oz.) of Mexican Coke (the kind with Cane sugar instead of corn syrup – yum) today. I stopped eating at 10 pm (actually a little earlier) and am planning to hold off on breakfast until after my morning appointment so that if they check my sugar it will be a fasting number and not effected by what I’ve eaten. I can’t help but wonder if my numbers were so high at the one hour glucose test b/c I had a breakfast with a lot of carbs as well as a Pepsi about two hours before the blood was drawn. We’ll see what tomorrow’s numbers hold. I have the feeling it’s going to be a long time (at least 10 weeks) before I have another Coke or Pepsi. Sigh…

Leave a Reply

