Gestational Diabetes is a Pain in the…

Well, you get the picture.  I still haven’t met with the perinatologist; that is on Thursday morning.  I’m not doing as well as I could in the sugar department but I try to comfort myself with the knowledge that I haven’t been given a diet or really any guidelines yet.  I say try, b/c I know that sugar is the enemy, I’d have to be an idiot not to, and I know there are certain things I shouldn’t eat (not so hard) as well as drink (MUCH harder for me).  I’m actually drinking diet pop today, but I’ve been really bad about that the last week or so.  I’ve cut down the number of regular Coke or Pepsi’s that I’ve consumed, but they are still there.  I even switched the sugar-free kool-aide for regular the other day behind TJ’s back.  Of course I’m a terrible liar and confessed what I had done to him the next day.  He was not amused.  Before anyone jumps all over me, yes, I know that this is important and that this is for my own good as well as Connor’s.  I’m trying, I really am.  Today has been better.  I grabbed a Pepsi without even thinking about it, but only took a few sips before stopping myself and giving it to TJ and switching it for a Diet Coke.  So that’s a good thing.  I think this will be much easier once I have my blood sugar monitor and am able to actually see what’s going on and how the sugar is being processed.  I still think this whole G.D. thing is cruel and unusual punishment, though.

For the last three days I’ve had a new and even more fun (read NOT FUN AT ALL) symptom to contend with.  Blinding headaches coupled with strange visual changes.  It starts with flashing white lights and morphs into a kind of rainbow effect in my peripheral vision.  Then my peripheral vision starts to tunnel until I have almost none left at all.  This all happens in my right eye.  While this is going on on the right side of my head, the left side is getting a headache.  It starts out as a mild throbbing pain right behind my eye and gradually increases until it’s a blinding pain that takes up the left quarter of my head.  It hurts worse than any migraine that I’ve ever had and the sharp pain lasts for hours and even lying perfectly still doesn’t seem to make it stop.  Saw Heather at the Midwives office yesterday and she basically said it was probably my sugar being out of control.  So we’ll see if cutting down all the sugar will help.  So far, not so much.  My blood pressure wasn’t bad so we’re not worrying about preeclampsia  which was my concern initially with the headaches.  I guess we’ll see what happens.  I just want to be completely headache free for a few hours at this point.  Even when it’s bearable, it’s still there.  It’s my constant companion these days.

Other than the two really annoying parts of this, things are still going really well.  Connor kicks all the time which is reassuring to say the least.  He’s rolling around a lot more the last few days as well.  It’s kind of nice knowing that I’m having the c-section and not worrying too much about what position he gets himself stuck in when there is no more room for him to spin and roll around.

On the knitting front.  I’ve finished most of the first of the Tresse socks that I found on Ravelry.  This is the first time I’ve attempted anything at all with a cable and I’m really enjoying both the actual making of it and the way it’s coming out.  It really does look so much more complicated than it is.  I’m spending far less time getting these socks done than I did with the Monkey socks.  I think I’m finally in a groove for sock making where I understand the dynamics of the parts of the sock and that makes for less thinking and more knitting.  Using 2 circular needles rather than trying 4 DPN’s definitely made a huge difference for me.  I’d still like to master working with the DPN’s one day, but not until after the baby is born.  I’m starting to think I might get the four pair of socks I wanted to get done before the baby comes ready in time for my hospital bag.   Of course somewhere in there I must make a few pairs for Connor’s little feet as well; and a pair for Jacob so he doesn’t feel left out.  TJ, of course, could not care less about handmade socks. 🙂

Leave a Reply

