Almost halfway there…

I can’t believe it but I’m almost halfway through this pregnancy!  The first half seemed, at times, to go so slowly, but now that I’m feeling human again and I have tangible proof (the “baby bump” and the little kicks I’m starting to feel) of this child, I think it’s going to go a lot faster.  There is still so much to be done before this baby gets here and I know I’m going to be sitting here saying that in 10 weeks too.  We’ll get it done, though, we always do.

So the first 17 weeks of this pregnancy were sheer hell for me!  I couldn’t eat, I couldn’t get enough sleep, I felt sick and I was crampy.  I was starting to fear that it was never going to end and that the whole pregnancy was going to be that way.  Now that I’m almost 19 weeks and feeling better, I’ve almost forgotten all the suffering.  In fact someone asked me how the pregnancy was going the other day and without even thinking I said it was wonderful and that I loved being pregnant.  My how things change…LOL  When I was so miserable, I was sure that this was the last pregnancy I was going to have.  There was NO WAY I was going to put myself through this again.  Now, though, I’m not so sure…the thought of this being the last time that I feel a little one moving inside of me is sad to me.  I love the rounding belly, always have, and I think that maybe, just maybe, I might like to go for one more after this one.  TJ, on the other hand, isn’t quite so sure.  We were planning to have a tubal ligation at the same time as my c-section with this birth, but I’m pretty sure that’s off the table at this point.  There is no rush to make that decision that quickly.  We can always decide later to do something permanent to keep from having another child.

I’m definitely showing at this point.  In fact I recently sent my mother my 18 week belly pictures and she asked me if I was sure I wasn’t having twins.  LOL  It does seem like one day there was nothing there and the next, the baby moved a certain way and I popped out in a big way.  I’m already rubbing the “belly bean” (that’s what we’re calling the baby until we know the sex and choose a name; I got really tired of saying “him or her” or “he or she”.

I still haven’t gained any weight in this pregnancy.  We’ll see what the scale says at this upcoming appointment, but as of my Feb. appt. I had lost about 37 lbs.  I’m happy to have lost some weight, but now I really need to start gaining for the sake of the baby.  My mother said that you can tell that I’ve lost some weight in my face, arms etc. and I can see it as well.  The best thing for me is that my wedding ring finally fits me again!!  YAY!  I don’t know how long that will last since I know I’ll start swelling at some point, but I’m going to enjoy it while I can!

Here’s a quick picture of the belly from 18 weeks.  I’ll try to be better about updating as this pregnancy goes on.

Leave a Reply

