I’m back and I’m PREGNANT

Yup, you heard it here first…or maybe on Facebook…LOL  I’m pregnant.  I’m almost 15 weeks and it’s been a hell of a ride so far.  Andrea came to visit back in October and apparently having company was what it took…:)  TJ and I had decided to take a break from the fertility drugs from October to the first of the year so that we could enjoy the holidays without the ups and downs that were involved in the Clomid.  My moods were crazy and the hope followed by disappointment cycle was killing me slowly.  So we were going to stop the drugs and after the first of the year we were going to have our consult at The Fertility Clinic, which came highly recommended by my O.B.  With Andrea here I started to get back into the swing of life, which I really needed.  We went to a knit night and we hoping to make plans to do more things with knitting friends.  Shortly thereafter, though, I started to feel sick all the time.  TJ and I were pretty sure I had picked up some sort of bug and we were trying to ride it out.  When Thanksgiving came and went and I was still sick much of the time and tired all the time, we decided it was time to go to the doctor to find out if God forbid there was something really wrong with me; pregnancy never crossed either of our minds b/c I was off the Clomid and I hadn’t ovulated on my own in years.  So the night before we were going to call for an appointment or go into the ER, TJ suggested I take the pregnancy test that we had left from when we were trying so that we could tell the doctor that we had done the test and it was negative.  I went into the bathroom at 2am on Dec. 5th fully expecting the same negative I had seen every time I’ve taken a home test and was shocked, to say the least, when two lines appeared instantly.  I started yelling “Oh My God…” over and over again and then I ran into the bedroom and started jumping on the bed.  TJ, who was sound asleep at this point, was more than a little startled.  It was a shock and it was crazy.  We went to the O.B.’s office the following week and found out that we were just over 9 weeks pregnant.  No wonder I had been so tired and was sick constantly.  It was thrilling to go from almost giving up on having another child to seeing this baby inside me moving around.  What a trip.

Being pregnant at 35 is MUCH different than it was at 29.  I’m still suffering from severe morning sickness:  no throwing up but I’m sick to my stomach much of the time and there is very little that I can eat.  It’s not that I can’t KEEP food down, I can’t GET food down.  I gag on almost everything that I try to eat.  The only things I have found that I can eat readily are salads from Outback Steakhouse (don’t know what it is about their salads, but they are the only ones that go down easily) and cup of soup from Lipton.  I’ve lost almost 30 lbs since I’ve been pregnant, which is not ideal but the baby is looking good and measuring right on track.  I’m hoping that as I get farther into my 2nd trimester things will get better.  I remember enjoying pregnancy so much with Jacob and this baby is going to be the last one that we have (there is no way that I’m going to go through this again; I’m just too damn old…LOL) and I’d really like to enjoy this pregnancy at some point.  Lots of people have said that the fact that this pregnancy is so much more difficult and that I’m so much sicker means that it’s going to be a girl this time rather than a boy.  I kind of hope that they are right.  I’d love to have a girl this time, but I’d be happy with another boy as well, of course.  The other problem I’ve had with this pregnancy is being so freaking tired.  I’m still sleeping at least 15 hours on a good day and more like 20 hours on a bad day.

We’re hoping that we’ll be able to find out the sex of this baby at my appt. on Feb. 3rd.  We’ll be 16 weeks then.  We might have to wait until the 20 week appt. though.  We’ll see, I guess.  I’m really hoping to be back into the swing of things with having a life soon.  I feel like I’ve become really isolated during the last few years and just as I was trying to get away from that, this pregnancy took over.  I have to find a way to make/maintain friendships b/c I miss that kind of connection.  I love Jake and TJ and being with them is amazing but I need more, I think.  I need friends to spend time with and to have things in common with.  I just have to get past this whole sleeping all the time/being sick thing and then I can concentrate on that.  🙂  To all the people who I haven’t seen/talked to in months and months, I do think of you and miss you.  I hope that we can reconnect soon!!!

3 thoughts on “I’m back and I’m PREGNANT

  1. shannwa says:

    Thanks for the congrats!! Jacob does know and he’s so excited that “his baby” as he calls it is coming. He loves to cup his hands and yell into my belly. LOL
    We have a fetal doppler to listen to the heartbeat (I’m paranoid that way) and one of his favorite things is to listen to the baby’s heart.

Leave a Reply

