Getting Ready for School

Jacob is getting ready to start school on Tuesday.  We went school clothes shopping for him since the Endeavor Academy has a pretty strict dress code.  No jeans, collared shirts and sweaters etc. must be solid colored.  I like that about the school.  No competition in the way of who has what clothing etc.

I added a bunch more yarn pictures to my stash on Ravelry; which is long overdue and I did a little clean up work on my projects page – much too much stuff that I had frogged or had put in hibernation for way too long.  I’m still working on the BFL socks but I needed a break from knitting the simple lace pattern and do something rather mindless so I’m finishing the spinning for the Spirogyra fingerless mitts that I started forever ago.  I started with 4 oz of a merino/tencel blend in shades of brown/purple/blue fading to whiteish at both ends.  It’s called Blue Jean Teddy Bear, I think, or Denim Teddy Bear (I’m too tired to look it up right now).  I split the roving into 2 identical sections and the split them in half.  I fluffed and predrafted the halves together and spun the first section into singles of about 28 wpi, hoping for about 12-14 wpi after chain plying.  I’m starting on half number two of the spinning now and I hope it goes as smoothly as the first half did.  Fingers crossed.

That’s all for now, it’s late and I need sleep.  🙂  More later.

One thought on “Getting Ready for School

  1. Lisa says:

    A school where there’s no competition about who has what clothes? I can’t even imagine! (You know exactly what I mean, too. :-))

    Congrats to Jake on starting school! You must be so proud. 🙂

Leave a Reply

