Yarn Swaps and Crazy Life

Again it’s been months since I’ve been able to post.  I’ve had computer problems – another new laptop after the old new one (strange words usage) died on me.

I’ve joined my first yarn swap and I can’t wait to get started on it.  So here’s my questionaire:

  1. Do you knit or crochet? How long have you been at your craft?    ***I both knit and crochet, but I tend to knit more often.  I’ve been crocheting for about 20 years and knitting for about 3.***
  2. Do you spin? What type of spinning do you do?  ***Spinning is my latest fiber related passion.  I got my first wheel for mother’s day and I spend as much time as I can playing with her.***
  3. Are there any other crafts that you participate in?  ***I also dye both yarn and fiber***
  4. What are your favorite yarns/fibers?  ***I’m a big fan of bamboo yarns and fine merinos.  For spinning I love baby camel as well as Merino/Tencel blends.  I’ll pretty much spin anything I can get…LOL***
  5. What are your LEAST favorite yarns/fibers?  ***Not a fan of novelty yarns, nor do I particularly care for corridale or columbia fibers***
  6. Are there any types/brands of yarn that you are dying to work with but haven’t gotten a chance?  ***I’ve always wanted to try Artyarns Regal silk and/or the beaded silk.  As for fibers, I’m always looking to try spinning fibers I haven’t tried yet.  Llama, cashmere, yak, suri alpaca are examples.  BFL is another fiber I’m anxious to try that I haven’t yet.***
  7. What are your favorite types of projects to knit/crochet?  ***I’ve been knitting a lot of shawls and fingerless gloves as of late.  I’m anxious to try knitting my first garment at this point, a simple sweater or cardigan, perhaps.***
  8. What are you currently working on? Anything you plan to start this autumn?  ***Currently, I’m finishing up the Ravelympics:  The Storm Water Scarf in Sea Silk (what an amazing yarn, btw).  I also have the Tidal Wave Scarf on the needles in Silk Twist (another amazing yarn).  Both of these are Chrstimas gifts for family this year.  This fall I plan to try the Evangeline sweater from White Lie Designs – it’s the next thing on the my to buy pattern list.***
  9. What is your favorite FO? (Please, post a picture if you would like.) ***My favorite F.O. is the Zig Zag Moebius scarf that I made for my MIL last Christmas.  I don’t currently have a picture, but will try to get one of it to post.***
  10. What is your oldest UFO?  ***My oldest UFO would have to be the blue jean shawl that was supposed to be a Christmas gift last year but never got finished.  I’ve also got some fairly old scarf and hat patterns that I lost interest in.***
  11. Are their any knitting/crochet techniques that you would like to learn? ***I’m anxious to get better at sock knitting, have several book on the subject.  I’d also like to learn more sophisticated lace techniques in knitting***
  12. Are you a sock knitter? What are your foot measurements?  ***I’m a very beginning sock knitter.  Foot measurments to follow as I’m not near the knitting bag at the moment, so no tape measure at the moment.  My shoe size is 8.5 – 9, though. ***
  13. Do you have a yarn winder and/or a swift?  ***I have neither.  I tend to wind hanks to skeins using my knees and a nostepine.***
  14. Where/how to you keep you needles/hooks?  ***I use the case that came with my Knit Picks Harmony Options needles.***
  15. Do you collect anything?  ***I collect native american pottery.  I got my first one from on a trip to Tucson, AZ a few years ago and have been obsessed with the bowls and their colors ever since.  I also collect Zuni fetishes, the bears are my favorites.***
  16. What is your favorite type of music? Are you MP3 ready?  ***I’m pretty musically diverse.  I guess if I had to pick one genre it would be country.  I’m also a rabid listener of 80’s music – I guess that probably rivals the country music love.  I am MP3 ready, sort of.  My Ipod was recently stolen from my car, but I have plans to replace it as soon as I can, though.***
  17. Do you like sweets? What are your favorites?  ***I’m not a huge fan of sweets, but I do allow myself to give in to the call of Godiva every once in awhile…:)***
  18. What is your living situation like? Any pets? Children?  ***We are in the process of moving to an apartment right now while we look for our “dream house”.  I have a four year old son, 3 cats and we are getting the little one a puppy for Christmas this year.***
  19. Are you allergic to anything?  ***No allergies other than some random hayfever.***
  20. Do you have an online wish list (Amazon, Etsy, Loopy Ewe, etc.)? Please include links for your swap pal.  ***I do not, but have been meaning to set up a Loopy Ewe list.  Will post the link when it’s done in a subsequent post.***
  21. Are you having a birthday during this swap?  ***No, my birthday just passed last week.***
  22. What is your Ravelry ID?  ***shannwa***

There we go.  All the information you could want about me.  I’m happy, though, to share anything else that a swap partner might be interested in knowing.  I’m really excited about this swap and can’t wait to spoil the heck out of someone.  Yay, an excuse to buy fibery goodness.  LOL

Leave a Reply

