Back in Michigan and doing great

I’ve been a very lazy and bad blogger.  Lots has happened and been going on.  Life is better than it’s been in years and I’m thrilled with almost every aspect of my life.

I was wary about being away from home and visiting Mom for as long as I was.  Friends were starting to ask if everything was okay with TJ and myself.  Yes they are, better than ever, actually.  This trip was one of the best things that I’ve chosen to do in a long, long time.

Today was not a great day, though.  I planned to get up early, get some chores done and hopefully spend part or much of the day with my friend Shannon who I haven’t seen in over two months (sigh).  I didn’t end up being able to fall asleep (probably due to extensive napping earlier in the day) until after 9 am and when the alarm went off at 1:30, my head was pounding so bad that I couldn’t even turn the light on.  Migraine hell, my friends, migraine hell.  It wasn’t until almost 6 pm that I was even able to get out of bed.  Even now my head still hurts to some degree, even down into my neck, but it’s more bearable as long as the noise level is low.  I probably shouldn’t even be playing with the computer, but TV hurts, reading hurts and I’m crazy bored.  Anyone that called today and I didn’t answer or get back to you, I’m sorry.  Will get with everyone tomorrow or over the weekend.  I’m going to keep it simple and quiet tonight b/c tomorrow is ZPDK and I’m not missing it for anything.  I miss my knitting buddies.

Back to my life changes…since I’ve been back, I’ve left the house more than I have in the last few years.  Living in Lake City screwed with my head a lot and I became very much of a recluse, to the point where leaving the house was frightening for me.  Moving here helped, but not as much as I would have liked.  I joined my knitting groups, which I love, but even that was hard.  I have yet to drive myself to any of the meetings.  First Andrea went with me, which got me going in the first place, then either TJ would drop me off and pick me up or Shannon would pick me up and take me.  The fact that I was going was progress, but not enough.

Driving has been a huge issue for me.  I don’t know what it has been, but I’ve been terrified of driving.  Even getting the new car last year didn’t change it much.  Socialization has also been an issue.  I was really shut off, preferring to stay at home and watch TV or knit or whatever over going out and having fun.  In CA, though, I didn’t have that option.  I had to go out with Mom and the family and having renewed my friendship with my cousin Krista was a HUGE factor in my change.  She really pulled me out of my shell a lot.

Since I’ve been back, just over a week, I’m happy to say that TJ and I have taken Jake bowling twice, have gone to the carnival in town twice and since they’ve been up north (since yesterday) I’ve left the house to pick up this and that ON MY OWN, even driving the car.  I know how stupidly simple that sounds, but to me it’s a HUGE deal!!  I feel better about myself than I have in a long, long time.

I’ve been knitting and spinning quite a bit as well.  I finished my first mini-skein of plied yarn.  It’s far from perfect, but it’s pretty.  I’ll post pictures once I get the camera back (I left it in CA).  I’ve been working half-heartedly on a few mystery shawl projects, and I’ve gotten really back into working on my Clapotis shawl.  I love working with the bamboo yarn; it’s hand-dyed from Yarntopia Treasures (Tammy has gorgeous yarns, btw.  Her bamboo and cotton/bamboo blends are so soft and so pretty.  I love them) and the colorway is Seventh Heaven, a combination of blues and greens.  The drape on this yarn is so pretty and I can’t wait to finish this so I can wrap myself up in it.  This and the multi-directional scarf I’m working on for Krista (also with Tammy’s bamboo yarn – Surreal colorway this time) are the only two I’m really working on at this point.  I’ve tended to start many, many projects and set them aside when something else catches my eye.  I’m determined to finish at least one of these two projects before I start something else.  I want to work hard now, b/c I know that once I get my wheel, I’m going to be spinning all the time for awhile.

Okay, the headache is back a bit, so I’m going to sign off for now.  More later…

2 thoughts on “Back in Michigan and doing great

  1. I’m keeping an eye on you, Chickadoodle.

    Having experienced agoraphobia myself, you make me worried with what you write.

    Nothing I can write can make it all better.

    Please keep on blogging what you feel. You have friends even when you don’t think you do.

    You do. Have friends.

Leave a Reply

