Still in California and a Spinning Wheel Question

I hate wordpress!!! That about says it all. In the last two days I’ve written two lengthy posts about this trip and about the spinning wheel that I’m going to be getting when I get home from CA (will I ever get home seems to be the question at hand). So I had these two posts written, I published them both and…and…well, nothing. Neither of them are here nor are they saved as drafts, nothing. They just don’t exist. ARGH!! I’ve never had this happen to me before. It quite sucks ass!! On with life, though; an abbreviated recap of them…

What started out as a three week trip has turned into an epic journey. I was supposed to go home at the end of Feb. but my mother is coming back to MI with us and b/c of doctor’s appointments she wasn’t going to be able to do that until at least the middle of March. Then her birthday (March 24th) came up and it was suggested that we stay until after that so everyone could celebrate with her and Jake and myself. Next we moved onto my aunt Marion’s birthday which is only about a week and a half after my mother’s and my mother is very close to Aunt Marion as am I etc. so now we’re at April 16th for a fly home date. I’m booking the tickets this week and they will be non-refundable. LOL

Don’t get me wrong, I’m having a WONDERFUL time out here. This is one of the best vacations/visits I have ever been on. My mother and I are getting along better than we ever have in my adult life, I’ve renewed a friendship with my cousin Krista that’s deepened and become very important to me – she’s one of my closest friends now and leaving her to come home will be difficult at best. Jake has gotten the opportunity to play with his cousins Brandon, Logan and Olivia and he’s taken to all of them. Olivia is his special one, though. He adores her like a puppy adores it’s new master. Too cute!! He’s got a little Brandon worship going and I think he relates to Logan the best – Logan is the only one who will play chase with him and there is nothing Jake likes more than a good game of chase. Spending time with Diane and Melissa has, as always, been a blast. You can’t be around Diane and not laugh and Melissa and I have been close since we were kids. I’ve always loved spending time with her and that hasn’t changed at all. I do wish she weren’t so busy with all things kids, as all mothers are, and we could have some one on one time, but I understand how it is with kids in your life; hers have the added bonus of acting auditions on a regular basis. Yes, my little cousins are going to be big, famous stars one day and I’ll be able to say I knew them when…they were in diapers…LOL I never really thought much about family and how important it can be, but now that I have Jake and especially after spending all this time as an adult with them all, I see how much it means and that it would be unfair of me to keep Jake away from this crazy, loud, obnoxious, wonderful, loving and oh so fun family that he’s now a part of. If any of you are reading this, I love you with all my heart and am so glad I was blessed to be brought into this family!!

Now onto the important stuff: my spinning wheel!!! When I get home TJ and I are off to the Knitter’s Nest in Howell to pick out, and hopefully pick up, my new spinning wheel. I couldn’t be more excited!! This is where all of you experienced spinners come into play. Right now I have myself settled on one of two wheels: The Louet Victoria or the Ashford Joy. The Victoria I have actually had the chance to spin on briefly and it was a dream, even for someone who had no clue what she was doing. I’m pretty sure it had less to do with the wheel itself than with the fact that I was actually using a wheel for the first time, but that is a pretty powerful thing. It will always be a special wheel in my head b/c of that. My friend Shannon Too has one and I’m pretty sure she’s happy with it – she certainly spins gorgeous yarn on it. The Ashford Joy, OTOH, I’ve never spun with or even seen in real life. It’s got a good reputation though, and I’ve heard good things about it. So there I am. At this point I’m looking for a smaller wheel, most likely a portable one. I want to get the “fairy tale” wheel one day (which will be a whole other deciding frenzy) but right now we’re in the middle of houses (the owner of our rental home has decided to allow the house to go into foreclosure so we’re screwed. At least we get 6 months or so of rent free living there while we look, but we have to move, ugh!) and I don’t want the big wheel until I know we’re in our “forever house”. So I want a traveller, something that’s good for a beginner, but also that will grow with me as I learn. I tend to spin fairly fine, but that may be mostly b/c of my light weight spindle. I want to be able to spin a variety of weights. I tend to love things with “bells and whistles” but in this case I think something a little more simple is in order. So I would love some advice. The Victoria or the Joy? Or another wheel altogether. As much input as possible would be appreciated here. I can’t wait to hear what you all have to say.

Leave a Reply

