Dental time…ugh

Anyone who knows me well, knows that I have a deep and abiding fear of the dentist. I don’t know where it comes from or why I can’t shake it, but it’s there and it’s strong. I have to have the nitrous gas at the dentist just to walk into the room and have them look at my teeth – yes, it’s really that bad. That’s why I have the ugliest teeth in creation. Fear is really a damaging thing. It’s embarrasing to be a grown adult with a husband and a child and still have this totally child like fear of the dentist. There it is, though.

I have been having major trouble with my mouth for the last four or five months now…there is a cavity in my front top tooth that needs to be taken care of – it’s almost impossible to miss and I always feel like everyone is staring at it and making comments behind my back (just b/c you’re paranoid doesn’t mean they’re NOT out to get you). Anyway, I bit the big baby bullet and went to see a new dentist last Tuesday. It wasn’t a terrible experience and everyone seemed really nice. Of course I was higher than kite on nitrous the whole time which tends to color the whole thing in a much rosier light than may be accurate. I have an appointment at the end of January to deal with the issues that the neglect I’ve visited upon my mouth has created. In the meantime, it’s brush, brush, brush and watch what I eat so as not to aggravate the situation.

The holiday season was apparently not very good for that. After my last post, I sauntered downstairs; that’s right, I saunter at times; to eat some breakfast and discovered that I have a MAJOR toothache ‘a brewing. So here I am, waiting for pain meds from my back to kick in enough to make talking feasible and praying it will be soon. I’m supposed to go to ZPDK in an hour and if I don’t start to feel a little better soon, I’m going to miss it for the third week in a row. I SUCK!! I miss my knitting gals. I don’t get my weekly dose of Holly and Shelly laughter if I don’t go and that’s a real tragedy. I can see Shannon more readily, as I have her phone number and I see her for other knitting events as well. Hey, Shannon, lets do something this coming week – TJ is taking Jake up north on Monday and I’m on my own for a few days. Give me a call, let me know what you’re plans are for Mon-Thurs. Actually Tues. I guess, since TJ works till 4 on Monday.

Zombie Gals: So sorry to have missed you all for almost a month. I’m a bad Zombie fighter, but fear not, Holly, if I see any on my own, I’ll take care of them to the best of my ability {GRIN}. I WILL be back next week, I promise, hopefully with no more tooth pain and a slightly prettier smile. I’ll be thinking of you all this afternoon while I’m sitting here waiting to hear from the dentist and hoping I can be fit in sometime today. If any of you gals want to get together and do something next week, I’m free and up for an fiberly adventure…Let me know. Have fun knitting, see you guys soon.

3 thoughts on “Dental time…ugh

  1. Have you realized that Monday is New Years Eve and Tuesday, New Years? You’re more than welcome to join us here at chez Twin. Everyone is home (except Al, he went back to his dad’s last night)…Bring a shoe horn.

  2. Oops…forgot to add my dental sympathies (not scared of the dentist here, just hate aggravating the pain of TMJ). Hope you got good drugs and will be fixed soon!

  3. lee edmondson says:

    Just read about your agonising pain. I too suffer from the agony that is toothache a pain so awful it should be renaimed toothagony..

Leave a Reply

