Man’s best friend

Or in my case, woman’s.  I’ve had Corky for the last 11 years.

100_0055.jpg

Here he is right before Jacob was born in the summer of 2004.  Cute, huh?

I’ve had him for just over 11 years and he’s as much a part of this family as anyone else is.  I’ve really never thought of him as old and I haven’t allowed myself to think about a time when he might not be here anymore, but now I don’t have any choice, it seems.  In the last month he’s lost at least 15 lbs, maybe closer to 20.  He’s not eating much at all, no dog food and very little in the way of table scraps.  He’s been very lethargic and had only diarrhea for the last few weeks.   It really hit me the other night when I was giving him a haircut so that I could save his fur (which has grown really long) to spin with some wool for yarn to make a “Corky scarf” and I realized just how thin he has gotten.  His spine seems to be sticking up and his ribs can be clearly felt/seen.  Not a good sign.

We’re taking him to the vet tomorrow where I’m sure they’ll do blood work and give us the prognosis.  I’m not expecting it to be good; I wish we could have gotten him in last Thrusday like we planned.  I chickened out at the last minute, though, b/c I didn’t want to know.  I know, now, though, that I have to stop thinking about myself and what’s easiest, least painful for me and start thinking about what’s best for him.  I honestly don’t expect to be bringing him home on Monday.  I’ve been spending all the time I can with him, just sitting around cuddling and feeding him every meat product that I can get my hands on.  I even gave him a can of beer to drink last night (he used to steal long neck bottles when he was younger and tip them over to drink the beer as it spilled out).

He’s been a really good dog; the best friend and companion that I could have asked for.  I’m going to miss him dearly and there will never be another dog like him for me.  We’ve decided to wait a bit before getting a new dog.  I know that it’s important for Jake to have a dog, well, maybe not important in the traditional sense, but he’s had dogs since he was born and I think it would be confusing to him to have none suddenly, but I think I want to wait at least a few months in honor of Corky’s memory.

So, if you have a few minutes today, please stop and send some good thoughts/vibes his way.

Jake and Corky

2 thoughts on “Man’s best friend

  1. Aww, you know how sorry I am. It’s soooo hard to part with our furry friends. Eventually, the most loving, responsible thing you can do is think about what’s best for him. Even if it’s the hardest.

    ~hugs to you all~
    Shannon too

  2. shannwa says:

    THanks for the kind thoughts. They are appreciated. We’re taking him to the vet this afternoon, so I should know more this evening. I really do hope that he’ll be coming home with us tonight, but I’m just not sure what’s going to happen. I’ll let you know.

    I feel like such a shit, btw. With everything going on I completely forgot to send you birthday wishes on Saturday. I’m sorry. Happy belated birthday!!! I hope you had a great day!!

Leave a Reply

