Sick again

You know, I’d heard that you get sick a lot more once you have kids, but I thought that didn’t happen that until after they started school.  I’ve had so many little colds and things in the last year – the kind that come and go in a few days – that you would think I worked in a germ factory (what a horrible thought, working in a factory full of just germs).  This time, though, was worse.  I got myself a wonderful little case of bronchitis.  At least it didn’t turn into full blown pneumonia like it normally does, though.  For the last five or six days I’ve done nothing but sneeze, wheeze, cough, blow and spit phlegm.  Not fun.  I haven’t been able to sleep, to eat, to knit, to do anything really.  I didn’t think it would ever end.  I went to bed last night (early this morning) planning to call the doctor today to go in for a chest x-ray to check for pneumonia but woke up this morning with my nose clear (ah, the taste of food and drink) and my chest feeling lighter than it has in a week.  I think I sweat most of whatever I had out; my pillow was soaked this morning when I woke up.  The best part, though, is having some of my energy back.  I’ve felt like something the cat not only dragged in, but threw up on and then pushed down a flight of stairs all week.

I’ve decided to start a small business hand dying and spinning yarn eventually.  Of course I have to get a wheel, learn to use it and see if I have the talent needed to do this, but I’m hopeful.  🙂  I’m getting my wheel for Christmas and I can’t wait.  Ever since I got to use Shannon’s a few weeks ago, I’m hooked.  Admittedly, I haven’t done much spindle spinning in the last weeks, but I’ve been working on the knitted X-mas gifts for family.  I’m using totally different yarns and patterns than I originally planned.  My first ideas were a bit of a reach for my skills.  I think I could have gotten them done, but definitely not in time.  Maybe next year.

I’m becoming quite the little matchmaker.  I set up Andrea with Bubba (an old friend of mine) and they not only hit it off, they fell instantly in love.  I’ve heard of love at first sight, but never seen it actually happen right before my eyes.  I’m so happy for them.  Both of them are great people who haven’t had the best luck with love in the past.  They seem to be a perfect fit.  I hope this is the forever love that they are both looking for.

2 thoughts on “Sick again

  1. shannwa says:

    Thanks for the interest, is there something specific in the post you would like me to follow up on, or just the whole thing in general; sickness, business, matchmaking? Let me know and I’ll keep it updated. 🙂

Leave a Reply

