Here comes Halloween

Going grocery shopping last night reminded me of how close Halloween is. For the last 10 years or so I haven’t paid an awful lot of attention to it as a holiday. There has been the occasional party, but for the most part it’s just been another night in my life. Jacob’s first Halloween was an exception; we dressed him up like a little pumpkin and took him from place to place so people could see how cute our little 12 week old bundle was. The next two Halloweens (ages 1 and 2) were disasters!!! Both years when trying to get him a costume, he freaked out and completely refused to even try it on. There was no way he was participating in something that required him to dress up. He could tell the difference between regular clothes and a costume, even without a mask or any sort of head piece, and he wasn’t having anything. For those two years I told people he was going as the cutest little boy in town (pretentious? Maybe a little bit, but I couldn’t come up with anything better; I’m just not a very creative person, I guess.) This year is going to be different. We’re living in a new place, in the middle of a subdivision, where he can trick or treat, and by God he’s going to. He’s got a lot more interest in the kind of characters that you can find costumes of and I think he’s going to be more excited about it this year. My fingers are crossed, anyway. To be honest so are my toes and I’m willing to go as far as my eyes…LOL We’re going to look at some costume web sites today and see how he reacts to what he sees.

I found a really cute trick or treat bag to crochet and felt for him (here). I hope he gets some use from it.

Wish me luck!

Leave a Reply

