The Cost of Illness and lots of knitting

Yesterday was the day I was supposed to be meeting and learning from one of my biggest knitting heroes, Annie Modesitt. I say supposed to, b/c I opted not to go. Sounds crazy, right? My motivation was good: I caught this bronchitis thing from TJ and/or Jacob and I’m still pretty sick and pretty contagious; I’m actually not positive on the contagious part, but I didn’t want to take any chances since Annie’s husband, Gerry, is having a bone marrow transplant in the next week or so and I didn’t want to take the chance of possibly getting her sick and her not being able to be with Gerry while his immunity is lowered.  I’m not a doctor, but I think that would be really bad for Gerry.  So, I gave up my chance for a brush with greatness for the well being of Annie and her husband.  It really was the only choice I could have done; if I had gotten her sick,that would have been a burden for me to bear.

The positive side of being sick is that I have gotten a lot of work done on the Dayflower scarf.  I’m not having the best luck with it, at least I wasn’t until last night that I really started to get it.  Until last night I had been having to “tink” back every few rows to fix  a missed or dropped stitch.  Last night, though, I finally got into a  groove of sorts and I got through three repeats.  I knit for about four hours last night and didn’t want to stop while I was in such a good rhythm.  In the end, though, I was so tired that I had to put it down or risk making the mistakes I had managed to avoid for much of the night.  I’m hoping to get through at least another 5-10 tonight.   Wish me luck.

2 thoughts on “The Cost of Illness and lots of knitting

Leave a Reply

