New Books and Yarn

I got new books in the mail today, 3 of which are knitting books. I got One Skein Wonders, which I love b/c they divide the patterns up into yarn weights rather than just throwing everything together and not worrying about it, The Knitter’s Bible: Knitted Accessories, lots of mittens, hats and scarves and finally Family Knits by Debbie Bliss, whose patterns I just adore. This is the second book of hers I’ve gotten, the other one’s name escapes me, though. There are lots of great pillows, scarves (an incredible braided scarf that I really like), a pair of luxury socks etc. I’ll come up with the name of the book as soon as I send this. LOL I also got a couple of decorating for small spaces books to help give me some ideas for the smaller rooms in the house.

As excited as I am about the new books and the new patterns to try (I’ve been quite obsessed with the thought of knitting small things like fingerless gloves, socks etc. I’m putting all sock projects I’ve started or contemplated on hold until after I take the classes at my LYS this year. I had already started the gauge swatch for the Jaywalkers but I’m just going keep working on it and call it practice for using size 0 DPN’s (they’re so small). I also started working on some little sample swatches practicing some cabling (I’ve never done it before). I’m really excited about it; it’s a little bit of a pain in the ass to work with the cable needle, I don’t like the one I have, but I’m going to persevere and keep at it; I want to be able to work cable patterns. Lace will be the next challenge that I tackle.

So the yarn I got today: 12 skeins of Noro Kureyon, 4 skeins each of three different colorways. OMG, I’m in love with this yarn! I can’t wait to use it, am thinking about doing the fingerless mitts that is up on Wendy’s blog. I’ve been wanting to knit a pair and they will look great in Noro. I also got a “mystery box” of yarn from EBay and it was a great buy. Lots of yarn in it, mostly novelty, but I haven’t seen most of it ever before and I love it. I’m already trying to think of ways to use them with the single skeins that I have.

Gotta run now!!! Night y’all.

Leave a Reply

