Lime/Mango striped socks

I’ve been working on a new pair of socks. Kind of self designed, but not really. I’m using a basic sock pattern (although, rather than swatching anymore, I’m thinking of using a sock calculator so I can just choose my needle size).
When I first decided to try sock knitting (over six months ago…it took me a long time to get there) I bought 4 skeins of Microspun by Lion Brand; 2 of lime and 2 of mango. They are very bright, happy colors and they inspired me. So now they’ve been sitting in my project bag forever now. After finishing my first sock last week, I decided that I wanted to use the microspun and I wanted to do striped socks with solid heeel and toe (with the solid color lime on one sock and mango on the other). I grabbed the same (simple) basic sock pattern and did the “dreaded math” to figure out the number of rows so I could plan my striping pattern etc. I was so excited to use my new bamboo dpns, but they worked TERRIBLY with the yarn (yes, I know I’ve been bitching for days now about those damn dpns). So I’ve finally given up on finding a way to make them work and gone back to the metal needles. They’re still a little too long and still annoying, but I’m going to have to get some shorter metal dpns.
Anyway, the second pair has begun…well, swatching and planning, anyway. I’m really enjoying playing with a pattern and feeling like I can actually make something of my own. I don’t know how to explain it, it’s a strange, but AMAZINGLY good feeling!!! Knitting makes me feel like nothing else ever has, it’s like I’ve found the thing I’m meant to do. I really wish I could find a way to make this my living…

Leave a Reply

