First sock, dpns and a pound of silk

I did it!! I finished the dreaded first sock. I feel so freaking accomplished!!! It’s not the prettiest thing in the world, of course, it was my first attempt, but it fits and it’s comfortable and I love it. Now i have to avoid “second sock syndrome”…LOL I will post pictures of the sock as soon as I upload them from the camera.

I also got my yarn from ebay this week. It’s so gorgeous that I think I should be calling it fibre instead of yarn…LOL It’s a 50/50 silk/rayon blend in a colorway called Golden Grapes. It’s a mix of shades of reds, purples and golds. I love it. I just don’t know what to do with it. It’s a very fine yarn (I haven’t done the test where you double a strand and run it through a needle guage to figure out what needles size would work best) I was thinking about the corset-t that was shown earlier this season on Knitty Gritty. It’s gorgeous with a lace inset pattern. I’m not sure, though. Does anyone have any suggestions for a project with a fine stranded yarn in silk?? Something pretty, a little challenging, but not something for an advanced knitter. Maybe intermediate…Thanks in advance for advice and for input. I’ll also post a picture of Golden Grapes as well as a skein of sock yarn that I got (OMG it’s GORGEOUS!!! It’s shades of reds, oranges and yellows. So vibrant and so pretty.) I think I’m getting addicted to hand painted yarns…LOL

I got my bamboo dpns last week and it’s the strangest thing. I love my bamboo straight needles, but I really am not loving them, though. They don’t allow the stitches to slide well at all and everything seems to get caught up on them. UGH!!! I have both 4″ and 6″ DPNs and I really want them to work. I’ve tried rubbing them down with lotion and wiping it off (which worked beautifully with the straight needles, but not the dpns), I’ve tried rubbing baby powder on my hands…neither thing has worked at all. I’ve thought that maybe it’s the yarn I’m using. I’ve started another pair of socks (yes before the second one to my first, which was really just to see if I could get the basic construction down) and I’m using microspun by Lion Brand (which I really have loved working with in the past). If anyone has any suggestions, I would really appreciate hearing them. The set of bamboo dpns came with a square of sand paper. Maybe I need to sand them? I thought of it, but I was afraid that I’d ruin them if I tried.

2 thoughts on “First sock, dpns and a pound of silk

  1. Katy says:

    babmboo pins…. keep on rubbing baby powder on the pins, every few rows if you need to… all of a sudden the stickiness goes and they are the wonderful things you know they can be! I got stacks of them off E-bay and all of the smaller sixes were horribly sticky to start with but lovely now.

  2. Shannon D. says:

    Thanks, Katy. I’ll keep on powdering them. I not giving up on the little buggers, I WILL make them work for me.

Leave a Reply

