The 1st Sock!!

I FINALLY DID IT!! I’ve got my very first sock on the DPNs and I’m well on my way. The cuff is done and I’m about to start working on the leg. As I’ve mentioned before, socks were the main reason I wanted to pick up knitting. I’ve been knitting for about a year now, but DPNs and socks were always so scary to me. I’ve made scarves, hats, bags, a guitar strap and most recently a few I-Pod cozies in different materials, but socks were just too scary.

I was on ebay last week, looking for a set of cheap bamboo DPNs to try. I haven’t liked metal needles much from the beginning, but adore my bamboo ones, so I thought maybe a set of those would motivate me to try again. (I’ve tried DPNs on more than one occasion only to give up after it all became too confusing and too cumbersome). I found a great deal on a rayon/silk handpainted 1 lb skein that is absolutely gorgeous. I’m not sure what I’m going to use it for so any suggestions would be greatly appreciated. (This is so off my main topic)…back to socks. While I was searching, I came across some gorgeous sock yarn in shades of orange, red and yellow that took my breath away. I’ve been really drawn to the warm colors lately, especially orange (which I used to hate with a passion). I bid and won the yarn which motivated me further. So I looked at all the “how to” sites for DPNs that I’ve been to a million times and it all looked the same to me. The other night (Friday) I was sitting in bed watching my soaps and knitting (like I do most nights after the little one is in bed to unwind and relax) finishing my last I-Pod cozy (I’m really learning to love striping, too, btw) and trying to decide what I wanted to work on next. I had no specific projects on the horizon (except for a crocheted baby blanket that I’m actually getting paid to make – yay me…LOL – and I was waiting for a trip to the LYS to get more (thank God it was a no dye-lot acrylic that I picked) so I was making center pull balls out of yarn to keep my hands busy while I was watching TV (I should really be using that time to work on blankets etc. for charity…I usually do, but I really just wasn’t in the mood for knitting something random at that moment and I didn’t have a blanket started…so, to make an already very long story less excruciating, I’m sitting there, watching TV and mindlessly balling yarn, not thinking about knitting at all but about what was going on in Llanview (I was watching One Life to Live at the time), and it was like a light bulb went on inside my head. I KNEW that I could use the DPNs. It made sense to me all of a sudden, out of nowhere. Has anyone else had something like this happen? So I got out a pair of size 9, metal DPs and grabbed the ball of acrylic yarn from the stash and went to it. Amazingly enough, in a short time, I had about an inch of a small tube going and it wasn’t a struggle to keep the stitches on the needles etc. anymore. It was a revelation!!!

I decided to start with a sock in a worsted weight yarn so I could work with slightly bigger needles for my first one and I found a straight forward, basic sock pattern which I printed out. I wasn’t too worried about a lot of the sock knitting; I’ve become pretty familiar with the structure of the knitted sock. It really has been like a sweet addiction for me, I’ve been learning about making socks and I must have watched the Knitty Gritty episode where they demonstrate making a simple sock at least 20 times. I cast on last night and have finished the cuff.

Leave a Reply

